Sunglass Bag

I have a brand new cavernous purse.  I had made it down to a tiny little thing to carry my stuff in, but this one is red.  I mean bright red, covered in hardware and I love it.  The problem is, I also have a pair of sunglasses I actually like.  But they will get lost in that giant purse, scraping against everything else in trying to escape.  I love the purse, but I refuse to let it eat my sunglasses.

That’s where a sunglass case comes in.  They may still get lost, but at least they’ll have some protection from the untamed wilderness.  I wanted to start with a pattern, but my sunglasses are kind of an odd shape and pretty big.  I also want to be able to close the case, and most of the ones I found just slide in one end and leave it open.  Looks like I’ll be making my own pattern.

I decided to keep it simple, going with a flannel-lined drawstring bag.  You can make any size lined, drawstring bag using these same basic instructions, but for sunglasses, cut one piece of flannel for the inside and a piece of cotton for the outside, each 6″ x 18″.  Fold, right sides together the long way, so they will measure 6 x 9″. 

Stitch scant 3/8″ seam down the long sides of the flannel.  Stitch 1/4″ seams on the cotton, but leave a 1/2″ gap 3/4″ from the top edge on one side.  This will be for the cord later.  Press seams open near top edges.  Turn flannel right side out and stuff into cotton, lining up top edges and pin.

Stitch 1/4″ from top edge, leaving a 1 1/2″ opening for turning.  Turn, then stuff flannel into cotton.  Press.  Hand-stitch opening for turning closed.

Sew around upper edge at top and bottom of hole in side seam.

Feed the cord into the hole.  A shoelace will actually work for this if you have one lying around.  Slide on a cord-stop and knot the ends together.

Slide in your sunglasses and pull the drawstring.

Codi was watching me make this and found that last bit of her dress fabric from the other day.  Ok, it was actually in my trash bag.  Here’s what she created.  Love it!

And last, but not least, I had to show you The Purse.  It won’t get my sunglasses now, but unfortunately it also seems to have a taste for ink pens and lipstick.

One thought on “Sunglass Bag

Leave a Reply

