Homemade Halloween Costumes

As my daughter keeps reminding me, she is technically an adult now.  And her brother is only two years behind her.  I think my big costume-making days are over.  I still have to help them throw something together most years, but it’s more of a last minute thing than some of the lengthier projects I’ve pulled off in the past. 

It only seems right to start with the first costume I ever made.  I was 18 or 19 and the store I worked for was having a contest.  The best Halloween costume would win $50.  I decided I wanted to win, so I spent at least $50 on fabric and supplies to make myself into a belly dancer.  Oh, yeah…I won.

StaciBellyDancer

I honestly can’t remember how much of this little ballerina was actually my work and how much was store-bought, but I can tell you a LOT of my time went into the knight in shining armor next to her.

CodiBallerinaTuckerKnight

My daughter has intended to marry Batman since she was four, which hasn’t changed, so it was inevitable that one year she would have to be Batgirl.  I didn’t have the heart to tell her that wasn’t how it worked.

CodiBatgirl

I was pretty proud of how this Anakin Skywalker costume turned out.  The very next year he was a store-bought Darth Vader.

tuckeranakinskywalker

Bat-boy and a costume we referred to as “Dead 50’s Girl.”

CodiDead50sGirlTuckerBat

One of my all-time favorites…Hermione and Harry Potter.

CodiHermioneTuckerHarryPotter

Store-bought or homemade, have a fun, safe and happy Halloween!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Halloween Costumes

  1. I love a homemade costume, I made a lot of them for my girls when they were little. The closest thing I get to making a costume these days is that I wrapped my 21yr old in gauze and she was a mummy. Not quite the same thing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

