Friday Favorites–Quilts

I have a hard time calling myself a quilter.  I’ve made several, and they’ve all turned out pretty well.  I just can’t help but think that title belongs to the women and men who make stacks of quilts.  As soon as the last one is finished (often before), the next one has been started.  They always have something in production.  Oh, wait…I have a quilt I started about 8 or 9 years ago in a box.  Yep, I guess I’m a quilter.

One of my favorite quilt-piecing techniques is using a solid color to frame bright pieces, like the white in this Double Hourglass quilt from Cluck Cluck Sew.

IMG_0917_thumb1

This Rainbow Chevron quilt from Leedle Deedle Quilts uses another favorite – rainbows.

064-1

The grey on Sue’s Half Moon Modern Log Cabin from Quilt Story has the same effect.

IMG_0250

I’ve always wanted to make a stained glass-looking quilt, like this one from Etsy seller BabyWilde.

il_570xN.353878474_7l4b

I’ve really been into grey lately, so this Garden Fence quilt from Hyacinth Quilt Designs caught my eye.

DSC_2610

I also love the color combination in this baby quilt from Bijou Lovely.

modern baby quilt 3

Red Pepper Quilts calls this one a Christmas quilt, but I’d use it anytime.

Cherry Christmas Quilt 1

This Around the Block quilt from All People Quilt is on my must-do list.  It’s one giant log cabin block.

around-the-blocklg_1

If you’d like to make a quilt, but don’t want to actually do any quilting, I’m with you.  Check out this Quilt-As-You-Go Strip Quilt from A Cuppa and a Catch Up.  I made an entire queen-sized quilt using a similar technique.

There is something so fun about puff quilts, and this one from Sew Quilt is the perfect size to give it a try.

13

So, how about you?  Are you a quilter?

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites–Quilts

  1. I love this post. Need a quick present and the quilt as you go fits perfectly. Thanks so much for another great project idea. Laura

    Wabi sabi

    Like

Leave a Reply

