S’mores Cookies

It’s been a while since I’ve shared any sugary goodness with you.  We’ve actually been trying to eat healthier around here.  That doesn’t mean we succeed every time, but when we cave it’s to tried-and-true things like chocolate chip cookies and caramel corn, not making up new stuff.  Except the truffle fries we tried this week at a local burger joint, but I didn’t make those, I just happily ate them.

Back to the sugar.  We attended a potluck event for my husband’s work last week, and he signed me up to bring a dessert.  I decided on cookies, but I didn’t want to make something too ordinary.  I also didn’t want to make a trip to the grocery store, so I started a search for interesting ingredients in my kitchen.  I had nearly given up when I found a jar full of graham cracker crumbs.  That started the ball rolling toward these delicious little treats.

S'mores Cookies - Crafty Staci 1

S’mores Cookies

1 cup butter, softened

2/3 cup granulated sugar

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup mini chocolate chips

1 cup marshmallow bits

Preheat oven to 375.  Cream together the butter and sugars.  Add the eggs and vanilla and mix well.  Throw in the flour, graham cracker crumbs and baking soda and mix until combined.  Stir in the chocolate chips and marshmallow bits.  Drop by spoonsful onto a lightly greased baking sheet.  Bake for 7 – 8 minutes, or until the edges begin to brown.

S'mores Cookies - Crafty Staci 2

For the graham cracker crumbs, don’t grind them into oblivion with a food processor.  These are actually better with some some chunks remaining.  I used the flat side of a meat tenderizer and a plastic bag.

If you’re not familiar with marshmallow bits, I found them in the baking section in Target and they look like this:

S'mores Cookies - Crafty Staci 3

Now for the mini-fail.  I decided to bake these in bar form for the event, since I was short on time and I thought they’d be easier to grab.  They tasted good, but because of the extended cooking time required the marshmallows melted into the cookie and disappeared. 

S'mores Cookies - Crafty Staci 4

Sad.

However, like I said, they were still tasty, so if you’re not concerned about the marshmallows you can press the dough into a greased jelly roll pan and bake for 17 – 20 minutes.

S'mores Cookies - Crafty Staci 5

These were a big hit with my son, so I’m sure they’ll be turning up around here again.

S'mores Cookies - Crafty Staci 6

2 thoughts on “S’mores Cookies

Leave a Reply

