Bendable Bunny Ears

I’d like to give you a brief insight into the life of a craft blogger on the first day of spring in Oregon.  I started on the project I’m going to talk about this morning while it was a little cloudy.  The clouds broke, and the sun was shining while I cut and stitched.  As soon as I was finished and started looking for a little spot of light so I could take some pics the very ugly, dark grey clouds rolled in.  I fought through my photo shoot and finally gave up when it started to rain.  I sat down to the computer to start writing and some not-tiny hail started falling, which knocked out my satellite internet.  Did I mention I also heard some thunder?  Happy spring!

Anyway, Easter is hopping this way and I have a cute project to share.  This was inspired by a felt flower project I’ll be showing you the first week in April.  These are easy to make and, like most of my favorite projects, the details can be changed to suit your taste.

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 1

These felt bunny ears are stitched with a pipe cleaner core, so they can be wrapped around just about anything.  To make a set, you’ll need this pattern, two pieces of felt (one pink and one bunny ear color), two pipe cleaners and some embroidery floss.

We’ll start with the larger set.  Cut two outside ears and inside ears.

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 2

Lay the outside ear down with the pipe cleaner on top.  The pipe cleaner should reach into the ear 6” from the bottom point.  That sounds kinda gross.  Don’t think too hard about it.

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 3

Lay the inside ear on top, centered and matching the points at the bottom.  Pin in place.

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 4

Stitch down the center using the stitch of your choice.  I used three different versions for the three sets I made here.  Hide the knots under the inside ear.

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 5

Yep, it’s that easy.  I wrapped these around the handle of a basket.

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 6

For the first set, I used pink embroidery floss to match the inside ear.  On the second I used thread that matched the outside ear so that I could bend the ear over without the contrasting thread showing on the back.

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 7

To make the smaller version, cut one pipe cleaner in half (unless you’d like it longer to wrap around something larger) and it should reach 3 1/2” up from the bottom point.

I decided to stitch around the edge of the inside ear on the smaller set.  The zigzag stitch in the center is my favorite of these three.  They’re shown here wrapped around a headband, and can be easily removed after Easter is over.

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 8

I really like the added dimension of the embroidery but if you’re really in a hurry, you could also use a sewing machine and a zigzag stitch down the middle. 

Bendable Bunny Ears - Crafty Staci 9

I’ll leave you with this:  the sun is shining again.

2 thoughts on “Bendable Bunny Ears

Leave a Reply

