Twisted Wire Carrot

As happens to me once in a while, I walked into my sewing room for an entirely different reason, and came out with this bit of Easter décor.  Most of the time I can focus on the task at hand, but sometimes I just OH…SHINY!

This copper carrot was inspired by the one I made before Christmas for my Melted Snowman Ornament

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 0

This is a larger version with a different method for adding the greenery.

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 1

I used 18 – 20 gauge copper wire.  I didn’t measure the length, but I’d guess it was about 4 to 6 feet.  I would like to see this with thicker wire.  It might be harder to twist, but the look might be more similar to the smaller carrot.  I used green felt scraps for the greenery and a cardboard cone for twisting the wire.

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 2

Starting from the top, I twisted the wire around the cone. 

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 3

I wound it too tight around the top, so when I pulled it off I tried to stretch it out, but ended up with a mutant carrot.

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 4

Fortunately, it was easy to fix.  I just cut off the tip at the point where it looked more carrotish and stuck it back on the cone to bring the end to a smaller point.

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 5

I cut several pieces of green felt in different lengths, each about 1/4 – 1/2” wide.

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 6

I gathered them all together in the middle.  I manipulated the wire at the top of the carrot so it was centered, then wrapped it around the center of the felt.

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 7

To make the felt stick up a little more, I pulled it together and wrapped the last bit of wire around the base.

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 8

I can’t wait to see what kind of Easter bunny shows up to eat this veggie.

Twisted Wire Carrot - Crafty Staci 9

4 thoughts on “Twisted Wire Carrot

  1. Really cute project diversion!! I just laughed out because your “Oh, Shiny!” comment just reminded me of “Hi there. My name is Dug. My master made me this collar so that I can…SQUIRREL!” in the movie “Up”!
    But I guess you knew that… =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

