Outdoor Pillows Stuffed with Plastic Bags

I’ve been saving plastic shopping bags and packing materials for quite a while now.  I saw this idea at In My Own Style,  and I was intrigued and had to try it.  That’s right, I stuffed pillows for my front porch with plastic bags.

Outdoor Pillows Stuffed with Plastic Bags - Crafty Staci 1

Now, having done this, I will say I wouldn’t use this technique for the pillows on your couch.  They’re crunchy sounding, and I imagine the plastic would compress quite a bit with heavy use.  However, for my front porch, where they’re mostly decorative, it worked great.

To make these, I used fabric that is specifically for outdoor use.  My porch is covered, but I’m hoping they won’t fade as quickly.  I made basic 18 inch squares, leaving a section open on one side for turning and stuffing.

Outdoor Pillows Stuffed with Plastic Bags - Crafty Staci 2

I found it helped to stuff a large bag in first with the opening sticking out of the pillow, then stuff the other bags inside that one.

Outdoor Pillows Stuffed with Plastic Bags - Crafty Staci 3

I didn’t just confine this to shopping bags either.  I used flattened bubble wrap from shipping boxes.  I even used the plastic packaging from some items we purchased, like toilet paper.  Don’t tell my family that one.

After the pillow felt poufy enough, I stuffed the bag inside and sewed it shut.

Outdoor Pillows Stuffed with Plastic Bags - Crafty Staci 4

I don’t know how long I can expect these to last, but they went a long way toward brightening up my front porch.  I just might have to start saving up bags again so I can add more next year.

Outdoor Pillows Stuffed with Plastic Bags - Crafty Staci 5

32 thoughts on “Outdoor Pillows Stuffed with Plastic Bags

  1. What a great idea! I love making indoor looking accents for outdoors but the weather resistance is so hard. Who wants soggy, moldy pillows? I’m definitely going to try this. Your fabric choices are great, too. Where’d you get it?

    Like

  2. How clever! The colors are wonderful! Stuffing pillows with something different is a great idea. This reminded me of my son and his friend when they were about 7 years old…..they took eraser crumbs and stuffed them into a small piece of fabric to make a pillow for his sister’s Barbie doll! Such creativity!
    Have a very nice day!
    ~~~Vickie

    Like

  3. OK, this is something I might try when we get moved. I think I have some material that might work for this too, and won’t have to buy anything! I love those kinds of projects. 😆

    Like

  4. Pingback: Cool idea: Use plastic bags to stuff an outdoor pillow | Sewing | CraftGossip.com

  5. Pingback: Cool idea: Use plastic bags to stuff an outdoor pillow | Sewing Patterns

  6. I think this is a great idea, but I just have one question — how noisy are the pillows? I’ve heard of using shopping bags for stuffing in dog toys because they make a crinkle sound. Of course, we all know how noisy those shopping bags are just carrying the groceries in the house, lol. Just curious…

    Like

    • There’s definitely a crinkle when you lean on them. I wasn’t worried about it, because these are mostly decorative, but I wouldn’t use bags inside pillows on my couch. I think the thickness of the fabric probably muffles the noise a little too. Good luck!

      Like

  7. Pingback: 116 Homemade Pillows DIY | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire

  8. Pingback: Earth-Friendly Crafts | Crafty Staci

  9. Great idea! I had a baby blanket made for my son when he was little and had it stuffed with grocery bags, so it would make noise when he crawled on it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

