Friday Favorites–It’s Not a Party Until the Police Show Up

I’ve mentioned before that my husband is a police lieutenant.  We live the life of a law enforcement family, which means:

  • You celebrate holidays and birthdays when you can, not necessarily when the calendar says you should.
  • You don’t get too comfortable when you go out to dinner and he’s on the SWAT team because you might not even make it to ordering, much less eating.
  • You might as well get used to killing spiders and managing catastrophes on your own, because odds are it’s going to happen while he’s on duty.
  • You find bullets in the laundry.
  • Your kids have played bad guys and victims for training scenarios.
  • Date night is a ride-along.
  • Your Christmas village has more cops than civilians.
  • Between the duty belt and ballistic vest, saying goodbye is like hugging a robot.
  • Teachers and other parents at your kid’s school are surprised to find out you’re not a single mom.
  • If your husband isn’t home after his shift is supposed to be over, you turn on the news to find out where he is.

Every single one of those has happened to me.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love our life, and I couldn’t be more proud of my husband and the work he does.  My son plans to follow in his footsteps and my daughter is marrying a firefighter, so we’re all in. 

I would have put this Crochet Cop Hat from Etsy seller ktandthesquid on my son every day when he was a baby.  So cute!

ktandthesquid

When he was little, my boy went through a Superman phase.  For his birthday, we bought him a Superman action figure, along with one of the villains.  He was upset because he didn’t want a bad guy, but I tried to explain that without bad guys, the good guys don’t have anything to do.  This Bank Robber Money Bag from Craftapple might make it a little more fun for the kid who has to take a turn being the bad guy in cops and robbers.

Craftapple

This Police Birthday Party from Crack of Dawn Crafts is full of fun ideas, but my favorite is the badge, notebook, etc. the kids were given upon arrival.

Crack of Dawn Crafts

My poor future grandkids might get a few more police items from me than their parents might like, but just look at this Police Officer Baby Bib from Etsy seller CarolynsClassics!

CarolynsClassics

This Pin the Badge on the Lego Police Officer from Stockpiling Moms would be great for a police party or a Lego party.

Stockpiling Moms

This Easy DIY Police Hat from Darien Dot Mom would be perfect for a party or as the start of a Halloween costume.

Darien Dot Mom

This police car shirt from Made it on Monday is adorable and would be pretty easy to make.

Made it on Monday

I want this Police Bunting from Etsy seller Maycasews for my police Christmas tree.

Maycasews

This Superhero/Police Party from Hostess with the Mostess…just, wow.

Hostess with the Mostess

When my husband was a new police officer, I remember walking into the department and seeing a tall wall full of patches from places all over the U.S. and the rest of the world.  When they moved into their new P.D. last year, my hubby painstakingly transferred each of those patches into a floating frame and they’re displayed throughout the building.  Those patches are important.  This Police Patch Quilt from Quilting and Life is another great idea to show off a collection.

Quilting and Life

Just to show I can be somewhat impartial, next week look for some firefighter crafts in my Friday Favorites!

23 thoughts on “Friday Favorites–It’s Not a Party Until the Police Show Up

  1. I really like this post.. If i am to choose the best blog post this week this sure wins!! May God guide and best wishes to your husband in protecting the good citizens from the bad ones 🙂

    I like
    -You find bullets in the laundry. (Very very cool)
    -Between the duty belt and ballistic vest, saying goodbye is like hugging a robot (Reminds me of ROBOCOP)

    Like

  2. I really like this post.. If i am to choose the best blog post this week this sure wins!! May God guide him and best wishes to your husband in protecting the good citizens from the bad ones 🙂

    I like
    -You find bullets in the laundry. (Very very cool)
    -Between the duty belt and ballistic vest, saying goodbye is like hugging a robot (Reminds me of ROBOCOP)

    Like

  3. You bring back memories of the life with sacrifices and all. Great post. I can identify with these especially the last two. I hated to get a phone call at certain times of day/night especially when it began, Mrs. ___ , …. Great ideas. Take care! 😀

    Like

    • My husband’s best friend (and fellow officer) called me a few years ago to tell me my husband had been in an accident. Ever since I’ve given him a hard time because you always start a call like that with “Joel’s okay, but…” and he didn’t!

      Like

      • Hahaha…yes! Give the outcome first and then the details.. My “husband’s” good friend that would call and say ‘Mrs. __ ‘ did it so slowly that it caused me to think something awful had happened. By the time he gave me the real reason, I had imagined 20 things and I was very thankful none did. I miss that part of law enforcement-to feel a part of the solution and to be proud of the man I was married to. Wishing your husband the best–and you, too! 😀

        Like

  4. Staci, I love your blog. You pass along great tidbits and ideas and you have such a creative style. Thanks for making my world a bit brighter. I nominated you for an award. If you decide to participate the info is on my blog-no obligation. Keep making the world a little better and brighter. Take care! – Amy 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

