Money Jar Wedding Gift

My family attending a wedding a week and a half ago that was a milestone, of sorts.  The bride’s mother and I have been friends since we were in kindergarten.  When my husband was first hired as a reserve (that means unpaid volunteer) police officer, it happened to be at the same department as her husband, before we knew that was where he worked.  They’ve been there together ever since.  Our kids went to the same schools and we live in the same little town.  The milestone I’m referring to?  This is the first wedding I’ve attended of a childhood friend’s child.

I may be getting up there, but I still remember what it was like to get married.  Money is a great gift because it can be used to fill in the holes left by things you still need after all the other gifts are opened.  I decided to give Sam and Jeremy cash, but I couldn’t just put it in the card and leave it at that.  In hindsight, that probably would have been the smarter way to go.  And the card did turn out pretty cute after all.

Money Jar Wedding Gift 1 - Crafty Staci

Instead, I got 50 $1 bills and proceeded to start folding them into hearts, using this tutorial:  http://www.instructables.com/id/Dollar-Bill-Oragami-Heart/.  Each one took me quite a while, and it started to become clear that if I wanted to finish before the wedding, I was going to have to come up with a different plan.

Money Jar Wedding Gift 2 - Crafty Staci

In the end, I folded about half of them as shown above, and the other half using this tutorial, which took less time:  http://www.origami-instructions.com/easy-money-origami-heart.html.  Of course, I forgot to take photos of those.

To hold all this cash, I bought a jar from Craft Warehouse and etched a P on the front.  It’s almost impossible to see in the photo, but I actually etched a circle with a P left clear in the middle.  I really liked how it turned out.

Money Jar Wedding Gift 3 - Crafty Staci

To fill in the space inside the jar, I stuffed in some Lindt truffles.  And we might have eaten a few as well.  I tied some silver wire ribbon around the jar, curled it around a pencil and slipped the whole thing into a bag.

Money Jar Wedding Gift 4 - Crafty Staci

I just hope the bride and groom don’t come over and throw eggs at my house after they spend way too long unfolding paper money hearts.  They were folded with love and only a hint of deviousness.

6 thoughts on “Money Jar Wedding Gift

  1. I folded these hearts for a friend of one of my son’s that was joining the Navy. I just put them in an envelope. The jar is such a lovely addition and would makes this gift last forever. Also, I would ALWAYS rather have cash as a wedding gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

