Friday Favorites–Craft Room Ideas

I had a plan.  After the first of January I was going to work on cleaning out some old supplies from my craft room, make some new items to restock my Etsy shop and get some fresh tutorials up and running for you.  Have you heard the phrase “Man plans, God laughs”?  I gave Him a good chuckle this week.  Thanks to an unexpected (but welcome) post-holiday rush on my Etsy shop, I’ve had my nose to the grindstone all week.  Did everybody get a camera for Christmas or something?

Anyway, back to my craft room.  We did a big reorganization three years ago, but in that time I’ve managed to accumulate more stuff and it feels overcrowded again.  Oh yeah, and a big section of it is full of wedding stuff right now.  Needless to say, I’ve been drooling over craft room eye candy lately, so it only seems fair to share.

Friday Favorites - Craft Room Ideas - Crafty Staci

Not only would I like to purge and straighten up my creative space, but it could use a bit more décor.  I love these Giant Buttons from No Biggie, made from Styrofoam so you could hang them just about anywhere.

DIY Giant Buttons by No Biggie

I’ve also had my eye on this Dress Up Wall Canvas from Positively Splendid for a while now.  Wouldn’t it be fun to make these like paper dolls where you could change out the dresses?  I’d never get anything else done.

I really love how the color theme was carried through on this sewing-themed specimen art from Living with Punks.

Sewing Specimen Art by Living with Punks

How about this Large Wall Scissor Art from Morena’s Corner?  If I ever find scissors like this at the dollar store, this is happening.

Scissor Wall Art from Dollar Tree by Morenas Corner

Storage is always an issue in a craft room, but fortunately there are lots of great ideas out there to make it not only functional, but pretty.  This Gathered Round Basket from A Spoonful of Sugar would be a great way to use up smaller pieces of fabric.

Gathered Round Basket by A Spoonful of Sugar Designs

I use mason jars for storage, but they just aren’t the same without this lovely metal rack, as shown on Traveling at the Speed of Life.  Check out her other ideas too.

Mason Jar Button Storage by Traveling at the Speed of Life

I have fabric cutting rulers in about three different places, which means I really need this Yard Stick Organizing Rack from Sew Many Ways.

Quilt Ruler Rack by Sew Many Ways

Patty from Patty’s Stamping Spot needed a countertop raised, so she took advantage of the opportunity and added some storage in the new space.  Brilliant!

Raised Countertop by Patty Stamps

I just did battle with my paint this week (more on that next week) and found my current throw-them-in-a-box method of organization a little frustrating.  Check out the DIY Hanging Paint Storage from Mad in Crafts.  Functional and decorative.

DIY Hanging Paint Storage by Mad in Crafts

I don’t have a chair in my craft room, but only because my sewing machine is in my office and the chair stays with it, along with two others.  I’m saving this chair makeover from Finding Sunday for the inevitable day when I’ll need it.

Chair Makeover by Finding Sunday

15 thoughts on “Friday Favorites–Craft Room Ideas

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites–Craft Room Decor | Crafty Staci

Leave a Reply

