Quick Tip–Craft Floss Storage

I told you last week about how I’m going to be a bit limited on what I can talk about here between now and the end of July so I don’t ruin any surprises for my daughter’s wedding.  I’ve been thinking about starting a series showing you some quick sewing and craft tips I’ve learned over the years, so this seems like a great time for that.  Welcome to the first in my series of Quick Tips!

I use craft floss, or embroidery floss often when I’m crafting. 

Quick Tip - Craft Floss Storage - Crafty Staci 1

The problem is, it tends to end up looking something like this, despite my best efforts.

Quick Tip - Craft Floss Storage - Crafty Staci 2

If I throw it back in the box this way, the next time I need it I’ll take one look at that mess and move on.  I realized my empty sewing thread spools might help solve the issue.

Quick Tip - Craft Floss Storage - Crafty Staci 3

These are the perfect size to hold a skein of craft thread.  The end slips right in where the thread end is normal held at the bottom of the spool.

Quick Tip - Craft Floss Storage - Crafty Staci 4

Neat and tidy!

16 thoughts on “Quick Tip–Craft Floss Storage

      • Hi Staci, I have been looking for empty 100m Gutermann spools for wrapping my embroidery floss too. I’ve searched the internet for manufacturers of that style spool. No luck. Finally, I see someone else has the same idea. Any suggestions as to where I can find and purchase 450-500 spools?
        Thank you for any help you can give.
        Stephanie
        321-228-2128

        Like

        • Wow, that’s a lot of spools! I wish I had a suggestion for you, but the empty spools I use I just keep after I’m done with the thread. The only empty ones I’ve ever seen for purchase are wood spools at the craft store. You might contact a local fabric or quilt shop and see if they would save them for you, or put the word out to their customers. Good luck Stephanie!

          Like

  1. Looks like you snuck a picture of MY box of embroidery floss. Reckon I’ll give this a try as soon as I have some empty spools available. Thanks so much for sharing this tip.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Earth-Friendly Crafts | Crafty Staci

Leave a Reply

