Adding a Side Slit to Shorts–3 Methods

Thanks to the good weather, I recently pulled my shorts out of their winter exile.  I have three pairs I bought several years ago that are all pretty much the same, and longer – more skimmer than shorts.  They’ve been around long enough they aren’t really something I wear out of the house, but I decided to give them a little update by shortening them to above my knee. 

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 1

Since I couldn’t really ruin these I decided to play around a little while I did all that hemming.  As a result, I’m here to share three different methods of adding a side slit, or vent, while hemming.

Wide Cut-Out Slit

Cut the legs the length you ultimately want them to be, plus 2 1/2”.  Turn the edge under 1/2” and press.  Turn to the outside 2” and pin at the outer leg seam.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 2

Measure 1/4” from the seam on each side and draw a line.  Draw across the top at the turned under edge to form a rectangle.  Stitch along the line.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 3

Cut the center of the rectangle, stopping about 1/4” from the top.  Cut out the seam.  Clip from the cut to each corner.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 4

Turn the seam right side out, pushing out the corners.  Press well.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 5

Press the remainder of the seam up.  Stitch close to the fold.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 6

Pointed Slit

Repeat the same as above, except instead of drawing a rectangle, draw angles.  Measure 1/4” from each side of the seam, then draw the line up to meet the seam just below the turned-under edge.  Cut straight up the center.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 7

Turn, press and stitch near fold.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 8

Lapped Slit

Cut off the length plus 1 1/2”.  Measure up 3” on the side seam and make a mark.  Stitch over the mark, perpendicular to the seam, which is known as a bar tack.  Using a seam ripper, open the seam below the stitching.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 9

Turn the edge of the bottom side under and stitch as close to the bar tack as possible.  Stitch along the removed stitching line on the upper side.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 10

Turn the bottom edge up 1 1/2”, then turn 1/2” to the inside.  Stitch near the fold.  I added a second row of stitching near the first.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 11

I’m pretty happy with all of these, but my favorite is the triangle shape on the grey shorts.

Adding a Side Slit to Shorts - Crafty Staci 12

These just might see the other side of my front door now!

8 thoughts on “Adding a Side Slit to Shorts–3 Methods

  1. Wow. It must have been fun to experiment. I will remember this any time I’m trying to do something a little different than hemming curtains!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

