Kids’ Wedding Coloring Book

We knew there would be lots of little ones in attendance at my daughter’s wedding.  She really wanted to include them, but we were a little worried they might get bored.  We bounced around ideas like some yard games, but they really couldn’t do that during the ceremony.  We found a couple of cute kids’ coloring books for weddings on Pinterest, and once we decided to seat everyone at tables for the ceremony, we knew that would be a perfect way to keep the young crowd entertained.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci

My talented niece Keely drew the photo for the front to represent Codi and John.  I love the way it turned out! 

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 1

I made a word search using wedding and Codi and John-specific words for the first page on the inside, using this website from Discovery.  I probably should have used fewer words because the letters were pretty small, but I figured it would be a good challenge for the slightly older kids.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 2

The next page was just a simple cupcake outline, since that’s what we were serving at the reception, that could be decorated however the artist chose.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 3

Following the cupcake was my favorite page, Wedding Guest Bingo.  I was kinda busy at the reception, so I don’t know how the kids did on this, but it was fun to make.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 4

The Wedding Mad Libs was a tricky one, because you don’t want the participant to see where the words are going when they choose them.  I went with a brief description and lines for the words on one page…

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 5

…and the Mad Lib itself to fill in on the next.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 6

I found this fun website that has mazes for all the letters of the alphabet in both upper and lowercase, so I chose an S for the newlyweds’ last name.  I also added their little heads to show the start and finish points.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 7

The back of the book had a spot for the artist to write his or her name, but I was stumped for a while on what else to add there.  It finally occurred to me it would be fun to decorate the getaway car!  They were taking my daughter’s Kia Soul, so I found a photo and traced it to create the cartoon car.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 8

It would have been easy enough to just lay these on the tables, but we really wanted to take it a step farther.  We put each book in a yellow bag and added a box of crayons, a small lollipop and a couple of glow stick bracelets for when it got dark later.  I made labels with each kid’s name on them and a second label for the bottom with their table number so whoever put them out would know where each one should go.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 9

It was kind of nice to have that pop of yellow scattered around on the tables.

Kids Wedding Coloring Book - Crafty Staci 10

These bags were a big hit with the kids at the wedding, and none of them were left behind afterward.  I’m pretty sure those coloring books saved a parent or two’s sanity, if only for a few minutes!

14 thoughts on “Kids’ Wedding Coloring Book

Leave a Reply

