Kissing Bell

I’m still trying to locate some photos of many of the things we made for the wedding.  We were so busy that day, and the days leading up to it, we didn’t get a chance to take pictures.  Unfortunately, I’m starting to think some of it will have to live on in our memories and I won’t be able to share it all here.  While I wait it out a little longer, I thought I’d tell you about a fun thing we did that was a hit with the not-quite-tall-enough-for-a-rollercoaster crowd.

Kissing Bell - Crafty Staci 1

At a wedding, guests will often tap their glass with their fork to make that clinking noise as a signal the bride and groom should share a kiss.  At the last wedding we attended before my daughter’s the newlyweds were driven a bit bonkers with glass-clinking.  But because we were using mason jars and those silver-looking plastic forks, that wasn’t going to be an option.  I wasn’t about to let them off the hook though.

I considering putting a small bell at each guests’ spot.  I also thought about just putting one larger bell in the center of each table.  As I mentioned last week, we had lots of kids in attendance, so I was afraid every parent there would hate me by the end of the night.  Instead, we decided to go with one bell, and it worked out perfectly!

I made this sign using my vinyl cutting machine and some of the leftover grey vinyl from the glasses.

Kissing Bell - Crafty Staci 2

After a little searching, I found this bell on Amazon.  I was surprised at how good the quality was, especially for the price, and I’m pretty sure you can hear this thing ringing for miles.

Kissing Bell - Crafty Staci 3

We hung it just above adult eye level to make it a little tougher for the kids to overuse it.  It was adorable to watch two little brothers we know try to help each other reach it.  We also added the “2 rings per customer please” to the sign to help with the ones who were a little older.  Believe it or not, it worked, and I’m pretty sure everyone who wanted a shot at ringing it found a way.

Kissing Bell - Crafty Staci 4

We liked the bell so much, we hung it on one of the cedar posts by our front door after the wedding.  Without the kissing sign, of course.

Kissing Bell - Crafty Staci 5

As if these two needed any encouragement.

Kissing Bell - Crafty Staci 6

3 thoughts on “Kissing Bell

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | DigiFree | CraftCrave

Leave a Reply

