Halloween Spider in a Jar

Materials for this project were provided by Tombow.  The project idea, opinions and mistakes are all me.

I do not like waiting for things to dry.  Paint, glue, my hair…if it needs a little time to get there I have no patience for it.  That’s why I jumped at the chance to try this Tombow Xtreme Adhesive.  No dry time, you just swipe it on and you’re done.  My kind of glue.  The only big question was what was I going to use it on?

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 1

I’ll start by telling you that my first idea was a fail on an unphotographable level.  It wasn’t the glue, it was me.  However, attempt number two more than made up for it.  And I have a jump start on Halloween decorating!

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 2

To make this creepy little display, I used:

  • mossy twigs from outside my house
  • baker’s twine
  • spider web in a bag
  • wood letters
  • scrapbook paper
  • jar
  • battery tea light candle
  • magnet
  • a spider, instructions here
  • Tombow Xtreme adhesive

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 3

The wood letters were plain black, so I traced them on the scrapbook paper and glued the paper to the front.

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 4

To create the jar scape, I started by breaking up some of the twigs to make a base for the bottom of the jar.

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 5

I pulled some thin strips of spider web and wrapped them loosely around some taller twigs.  I pushed them into the jar, leaving the ends of the web draped over the outside edge.

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 6

Next in was Spidey himself.  I bent his legs to hook onto the twigs so he wouldn’t fall to the bottom.

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 7

I added glue just inside the rim of the jar in four or five places and stuck the web ends I’d left out to it.  That way, I could control where the webbing ended up and make sure it stayed there.

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 8

I had intended to use glue on this next step, but found I didn’t need it.  However, if yours doesn’t work like mine did, simply glue the magnet to the candle.  Just make sure you can still access the switch.

How to Create a Hanging Light Inside a Mason Jar - Crafty Staci

To decorate the lid a bit, I swiped on glue in a few places, then wrapped it with baker’s twine…

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 11

..and glued a circle of scrapbook paper to the top.

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 9

You can download the tag and pattern to cut the outer part here.  Which, of course, I glued together.

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 12

I tied it to the jar with another bit of baker’s twine.

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 13

Not quite as creepy as when you have to catch an eight-legged intruder in your house in order to “set him free.”

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 14

Unless you want it to be…mwahh-ha-ha!

Halloween Spider in a Jar - Crafty Staci 15

Thanks, Tombow, for letting me play with your awesome glue!

4 thoughts on “Halloween Spider in a Jar

  1. Pingback: Crafty Staci Sticky U - Tombow USA - Blog

Leave a Reply

