Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet

Are you all tired of hearing about wedding stuff yet?  I hope not, because we just got the photos from the photographer last week, along with her okay to share them here, so I have lots more to tell you about!

I have one more bathroom-related project I’d like to share with you before I reveal the whole thing next week.  I know it’s weird to be so focused on the restroom, but it was just adorable, and this project was the biggest focal point.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 1

We found the tub and watering can at Ikea last spring, so this wasn’t an expensive project at all.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 3

It was important to my husband to have a unique handle for the faucet, so we visited a local antique hardware store and found the one on the left for about $5.  He also needed a piece of 1/2” copper pipe and a drain, found at Home Depot.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 2

Replacing the faucet handle with the older one was as simple as unscrewing the nut, removing the one it came with, putting on the antique and screwing the nut back on.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 4

He pushed the copper pipe into the spout on the watering can just hard enough to make a small indent in the bottom.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 5

After that, he drilled a hole at the point of the dent…

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 6

…large enough for the pipe to fit through.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 7

He put a piece of wood under the tub and pounded lightly on the bottom in the center to create a recessed area for the drain.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 8

He drilled a hole in the bottom that was slightly bigger than the diameter of the pipe.  After the hole was drilled, he hit it a few more times with the hammer to flatten the rough edges.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 9

He removed the rubber gasket and nut from the bottom of the drain.  He pushed the drain into the drilled hole, adding some sealant to the underside.  Then he threaded the gasket and nut back on, tightening it with a wrench.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 10

With the drain securely in place, installing it involved some plumbing skills I won’t get into here.

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 11

It turned out even cuter than I pictured when my husband suggested it.  And it worked!

Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet - Crafty Staci 12

Next Wednesday – the big bathroom reveal!

22 thoughts on “Galvanized Tub Sink and Watering Can Faucet

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | DigiFree | CraftCrave

  2. Pingback: Outdoor Wedding Bathroom | Crafty Staci

  3. I am wanting to use a galvanized bucket (short and smaller than yours) for my master bathroom sinks. My husband knowing noting about plumbing doesn’t think it will work, but I’m a head strong type person and am insisting it WILL work. My concern is though, how do you go about protecting it so that it doesn’t rust? I thought of putting some marine varnish on the inside, but wouldn’t it wear off after awhile? I would be curious to see.

    Like

    • Ours is part of a semi-outdoor bathroom, and doesn’t get frequent use, so I can’t say how it will hold up long term. I’d recommend getting the best quality bucket you can find, and I would seal it. You can always reapply every year or two as needed. Good luck!

      Like

  4. We used an galvanized bucket that has ridges in the bottom. We are having trouble with draining 1/8 inch water left. Can you please let me know what type of drain that you used or some ideas that you may have to help with this… Thanks

    Like

    • He drilled a hole in the wood counter top for the pipe to go through and that’s what kept it in place. We weren’t aiming for a permanent installation, but if you were I’d consider some sort of adhesive on the bottom edge to keep it from twisting.

      Like

  5. This is a great idea!! I had almost the same idea, but I’m using an enamel dishpan. The problem I have is the lip of the drain is turned upward. Did you all have this same problem? I’m wondering because I have cut my holes already for the dishpan and well I really don’t want to back up and punt again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

