Siren Nation, Feather Your Nest and Craft Warehouse

At the beginning of this year I made a goal for myself to get involved in some in-person craft events.  Don’t get me wrong – I love my online work.  It has given me the opportunity to meet people from all over the world, and I’m thankful for that.  But it’s just me, sometimes in my pajamas, and I felt like that could be better balanced with some real-world interactions.  And real clothes.

One of the ways I planned on achieving my goal was to do a local craft show or two.  I participated in a few back when my kids were small, but the game has changed a lot since then, and I wasn’t sure where to start.  I decided I would apply to my two dream shows, and make a point to visit as many of the others as I could so I could plan for next year.  I sent in applications to Crafty Wonderland and Siren Nation, both in Portland, and received the “thanks for applying, but…” emails from both.  No surprise – they’re both popular, juried shows and I didn’t really expect to be accepted on my first try.  Imagine my surprise when I got the email last week letting me know that Siren Nation had a cancellation and asking if I would be interested in the spot!

Print

If you’re going to be in the Portland area next Sunday, November 2, 2014, I’d love for you to come visit me at McMenamin’s Kennedy School.    There will be many tables filled with handcrafted items by female artists, including me and my lovely daughter.  It opens at 10 am, and there’s no charge to get in.  In fact, if you come to my table and tell me you read this on my blog, I’ll give you one of my new DIY Coffee Cup Sleeve Kits for FREE!  Meeting someone in person who reads my blog would be the best of both worlds colliding and would make my day.  Also, look for a future post titled How to Prep for a Craft Show in 12 Days Without Losing Your Mind.  Hopefully I’ll be qualified to write it by then.

DIY Coffee Cup Sleeve Kits from Crafty Staci

That’s not my only venture into the real world that’s coming up though.  Before my daughter’s wedding, she noticed a new quilt shop, Feather Your Nest, that had opened up across the street from the cupcake shop.  I paid them a visit, and walked out with an armload of cute fabrics and a promise to contact the owners after the wedding to discuss teaching a class.   After sitting down recently with the very sweet mother-daughter team, I have two classes scheduled in their shop for next month.  If you’ll be anywhere near Gresham, Oregon on Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 7 pm or Saturday, November 15, 2014 at 10:30 am, come join me and learn how to make my favorite thing – a coffee cup sleeve!  For only $15 you’ll receive all the materials you need, a pattern to take home and personal instruction from me.  To sign up or get more info, contact Kris or Abbi at feathered.nest97030@gmail.com.

ShabbyChristmasHeader

My participation on the Craft Warehouse Design Team is online, but it feels a little closer to live to me because I am always in their store.  They don’t all stop and wave and shout my name when I walk in the door, but I’m working on it.  Last week it was my turn to work on a project for them, so if you want to know a little more about me, you can see my designer profile on their blog here.  The important part is the project though, and this time I got to make a cute Chatterbox reversible apron using some prints from Windham Fabrics Oh Clementine line by Allison Harris for Cluck Cluck Sew.

Apron for Craft Warehouse - Crafty Staci

I had a seriously hard time choosing a favorite side.

Chatterbox Apron for Craft Warehouse - Crafty Staci

Visit me over at the Craft Warehouse blog to see how it came together!

So, for once, I can actually cross a New Year’s resolution off as achieved.  I’m getting out into the real world as a teacher and a vendor.  And it only took me until October!

12 thoughts on “Siren Nation, Feather Your Nest and Craft Warehouse

  1. Wow good for you!! Wish I lived closer I would be there for sure. Hope we don’t lose you to the REAL World. Selfish of me, right! Love the apron by the way.

    Like

  2. Pingback: CraftCrave | DigiFree | CraftCrave

  3. Good luck with the show, that’s so exciting! I’ve been to some of the UK’s craft shows for work and there’s nothing like meeting real crafters. Your designs are sure to be popular, I love your coffee cup sleeve kits – just make sure you take enough stock because people hate it if you sell out! Good luck 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Siren Nation and Disney Coffee Sleeves | Crafty Staci

Leave a Reply

