Wedding Drink Stand and Flavored Syrups

I didn’t know there was a term for it until we got into the process of planning one, but my daughter and son-in-law had a dry wedding.  For those who haven’t heard that before, it just means we didn’t serve alcohol.  We still wanted the beverages to be fun and not boring though.  We decided on lemonade, iced tea and water, but with lots of options to mix in to take it up a notch.

Wedding Drink Stand and Flavored Syrups - Crafty Staci

It all started with the mason jar-style drink dispensers.  Codi fell in love with them early in the planning process, so everything was planned around them.  My husband built the stand from the same rustic cedar as the cupcake stands I showed you last week.  He planned it at the perfect height for the drinking jars to fit underneath the spouts.  I added the “Drink” with my new wood burning tool (which I LOVE).  Then I made paper signs with my Silhouette to hang above so guests could be sure what was in each jar.

Wedding Drink Stand Signs - Crafty Staci

We made sure there was plenty of fresh strawberries, blueberries, lemons and limes for those who wanted to drop a few into their glass.

Blueberries for Wedding Drinks - Crafty Staci

I also made a sign for guests who might not be sure what a normal syrup to liquid ratio would be.  We had to do a little taste testing first.

Instructions to make drinks - Crafty Staci

The big factor in making the drinks unique and customizable was the syrups.  I bought some of them, and made others.  I found chalkboard tape at the craft store, and instead of writing on it with chalk, which could easily rub off with so many people and all that liquid, I cut out vinyl letters and stuck them on.  It kept all the different bottles looking uniform.  I already had an old Coke crate that was perfect for holding them.

Wedding Drink Syrups - Crafty Staci

With the giant mint patch out front, I had to make the mint syrup myself.  Nothing else made sense.  Codi also wanted lavender syrup, so we went with homemade on that one too.  I kinda thought she was crazy until I tried lemonade with lavender.  It was delicious!

Mint Syrup

  • 3 cups water
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh mint leaves

Boil water and sugar until the sugar dissolves.  Pour over the mint.  Cover.  Let sit for 30 minutes, or until cooled to room temperature.  Strain.  Add food coloring if you’d like a brighter green.

Lavender Syrup

  • 3 cups water
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1/3 cup fresh lavender buds

Simmer all ingredients until the sugar dissolves.  Remove from heat and let sit for 30 minutes.  Strain.  Add food coloring if you’d like a lavender tint, as it comes out more of a light green.

I especially liked how this looked at the end of the dessert buffet.  Another thing I’m already looking for my next excuse to use!

Wedding Dessert and Drink Buffet - Crafty Staci

My thanks to Heather Fitch Photography for allowing me to share some of her photos here!

7 thoughts on “Wedding Drink Stand and Flavored Syrups

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | DigiFree | CraftCrave

  2. Thanks for re-doing that blessed day with all the pictures and work that you parent did and I love knowing and seeing all the labor of love that went into the day. Oops before we know it it will be a year, WOW!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My Wedding Dress | Crafty Staci

Leave a Reply

