Crafty Staci’s 5th Anniversary

Crafty Staci 5th Anniversary Celebration

Five years ago, on February 13, 2010, I sat down and wrote this:

I believe that everyone has the ability to be artistic or crafty. I’ve had many friends over the years argue that it isn’t true, that they have no talent. I’m not talking about talent. I’m talking about the simple ability to create something that wasn’t there before. Preferably, something that makes you happy to use, eat or just look at. Or something you can give someone else that they won’t throw away. At least not immediately.

Personally, I think the key is simplicity. Work at your comfort level. If it’s absolutely imperative to you that everything always turn out right, stick with what you know or at least what you know you can figure out. If you’re ok with the occasional failure or not-so-perfect outcome, branch out. I live in what I know and take vacations in new things.

I’d like to share some of the things that have worked for me in the crafty, home-operating, trying to keep the world spinning in one direction arena. Hopefully, you’ll either be inspired by them or learn from my mistakes. Someone should.

I left out a paragraph and corrected a couple of spelling errors, and some of it makes me cringe a little now (you can read the whole thing here), but I stand by what I said.  One of my favorite sayings is this Swedish proverb:

Those who wish to sing always find a song

What that means to me is if there’s something you want to do, you can find a way to do it.  If that thing was in the crafty realm, my goal was to help you achieve it.  I have a deep love for the creative spark and I felt like I had something to contribute to those looking to nurture their own.  Five years ago, my thoughts were on teaching.  As it turned out, I’ve learned more than I’ve taught.  It’s been more ups than downs and I wouldn’t change any of it.  And I have all of you to thank for that.

To show my profound appreciation, I’ve organized the biggest anniversary celebration I’ve ever had, which is going to last a whole month.  I’ve partnered with some of my favorite crafty companies to offer not one, but THREE different giveaway packages!

Crafty Staci 5th Anniversary Giveaway Partners

A different giveaway will open up each Monday for the next three weeks, beginning on the 16th with Uncommon Goods.  I’ll wait until Monday to reveal what it is, but you’ll definitely want to come back to enter to win.  The following week, both Craft Warehouse and Tuttle Publishing generously contributed to the giveaway package, and Tuttle Publishing returns for the final package.  Sprinkled throughout will also be a few items handmade by me.

I also have some new sewing projects to share.  Remember my Coffee Cup Sleeve of the Month series?  I’ll be starting a new series this month, and I promise it has nothing to do with coffee cozies.  I’m very excited about it!  Here’s a sneak peek:

Teacup Hot Pad Preview - Crafty Staci

So, those are some of the things you can look forward to during the coming month –

I hope it will be as fun for you as planning it has been for me!

20 thoughts on “Crafty Staci’s 5th Anniversary

  1. Congratulations Staci! You have a wonderful blog with so many creative ideas which you generously share with others. I am looking forward to seeing what your 6th year of blogging will bring! Enjoy your creative day! ~ Vickie

    Like

  2. Happy 5th anniversary, Staci! Once upon a time, I was a creative person-thanks for
    helping me find my way back. You’re a great teacher and your posts always bring us a smile…Karen

    Like

  3. Happy Anniversary. It is a lot of fun to follow your blog. You are also very inspiring & make me want to make & do more. Can’t wait to see what you have in store.

    Like

  4. Pingback: CraftCrave | DigiFree | CraftCrave

  5. Happy 5th Anniversary! I am glad I stopped by and found your lovely blog! Just started following you! 🙂 If you are interested in quick and small sewing/crafting projects with and for kids, please visit me one day, too. Would love to hear/read your opinion. Best wishes from Toronto and keep up the good work, Jana

    http://www.meandmyveritas.wordpress.com

    Like

      • Thank you so much! I am really glad you like the slippers. In case you are interested, there is a very nice collection of stuff just made for boys if you google “made4boys” or click the respective picture in my sidebar (the grey one). Best wishes, Jana

        Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great post, even if you left some out in your reposting of it. I have said the very same thing about cooking/baking. I’m a fairly good cook and so many friends have said they wish they could make this or that after seeing/tasting something I’ve made. I have often told them there is absolutely no reason you can’t do the same thing in the kitchen as I have done for years. It is just a matter of reading a recipe and following the steps as written without deviation until you feel comfortable to start tweaking things and making them your own. Simple. Honest. Some I have given that courage to try by that little push, while others just don’t trust in their own abilities and still don’t. It’s the same with crafting of any kind. Some will try. Some will excel at it and then others will watch from the sidelines and wait to buy what those who have taken that leap to make their own items have created and treasure those items.

    I love your blog. You have great tutorials and I am looking forward to your next series which I am hoping is going to be super cute hot pads or oven mitts for my kitchen.

    Congrats on your 5 years!

    Like

Leave a Reply

