Book Review: Cut Out and Keep–Around the USA in 50 Craft Projects

This book was provided to me for review by Laurence King Publishing Ltd.  All opinions are my own.

I was lucky enough to be chosen as one of Cut Out and Keep’s Crafty Superstars a couple of years ago.  I was very familiar with their long-running craft community, and it was a huge honor for me.  When I found out they had published Cut Out and Keep – Around the USA in 50 Craft Projects, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it!

Cut Out and Keep Book Review by Crafty Staci

The authors, Kat Morley and Tom Waddington, are the duo behind the website and authors of the book.  They are from Scotland, and had never visited the United States before.  They set aside 8 months and traveled all over the country, visiting all 50 states.  I’m so completely jealous.

Cut Out and Keep Book Intro

Besides the fun travel photos and experiences throughout the book, each state is represented by a craft tutorial.  The flavor of each state is reflected in its project.  One nice consideration by the authors is that many of the same crafting materials are used for multiple projects, so you can make lots of them without buying different supplies.

The book happens to start off in my neighborhood:  the Pacific coast.

Cut Out and Keep Book - Pacific Coast

It’s funny to see a snapshot of your own state through the eyes of newcomers.  I wasn’t surprised to see Voodoo Doughnuts and Powell’s Bookstore make the must-see list, but I liked the fact that the Oregon Caves were mentioned over the usual Multnomah Falls or Crater Lake.

And the Sasquatch Slipper Boots to represent us here in Oregon?  Well, it’s hard to argue with that one.

Cut Out and Keep Book - Oregon

I like the way the project instructions are laid out.  There’s a small photo for each step, making it much easier to understand if you’re a visual person like me.  On a side note, if you hope over to Cut Out and Keep, you’ll find the full instructions for this License Plate Notebook!

Cut Out and Keep - License Plate Notebook

There are a broad range of difficulty levels represented, so there’s something for everyone here.  There are even a few recipes thrown in.

Cut Out and Keep Book Bunting

I was glad to see the projects listed by region in the front of the book, then broken down into project category in the back.  It makes searching very efficient.

Cut Out and Keep Book Project Index

My husband and I are hoping to eventually visit every state ourselves.  We’re up to a little over a third of the way through the list, so we have a good chunk of them left to go.  Reading this book just made me want to reach that goal that much more.  In the meantime, thanks to Cat and Tom, I can craft my way across the country!

Cut Out and Keep Book Back Cover

________________________________________________________

I hope you were all able to get your entries in for my anniversary giveaways.  Entries are closed now, and I’ll be notifying the winners today!

________________________________________________________

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Cut Out and Keep–Around the USA in 50 Craft Projects

  1. Pingback: CraftCrave | DigiFree | CraftCrave

Leave a Reply

