Friday Favorites–Craft Tools You Can Make

As you’re reading this, I’m loading up my sewing machine to take it to the shop.  What’s even more sad – I dropped my other machine off there on Monday.  Ugh.  My husband says machine #2 just misses her buddy.  I thought by having two machines I had a backup so I’d never be without one, but apparently that wasn’t meant to be.  The first machine has never been in the shop before – and it’s nearly 20 years old!  I might have to borrow my daughter’s machine, just so I can work on my Etsy orders.  Crafter problems, right?  Well, I might not be able to show you how to make your own sewing machine, but there are a few tools out there that you can DIY.  I might make some of these myself this week, as long as they don’t require a sewing machine!

Friday Favorites - Craft Tools You Can Make

Years ago, I was lucky enough to end up with a marble cheese cutting board that’s perfect for holding my glue gun.  However, prior to that, it was always a problem to find something that could take the heat and contain the mess.  This Custom Hot Glue Gun Stand from Club Chica Circle is a great solution and can be made to fit your tool perfectly.

Custom Glue Gun Stand from Club Chica Circle

I don’t know how many times I’ve thought I’d stuck in a pin in my pincushion, only to hear it rattle onto the counter.  It seems like this Two-Sided Magnetic Pin Cushion from Ella and Nesta’s Little Room would give me a good second chance at grabbing those escapees.

Two-Sided Magnetic Pincushion from Ella and Nesta's Little Room

Traveling with scissors doesn’t sound like a big deal, until you find yourself trying to find a way to keep those pointy things from poking through their container.  Problem solved in the cutest possible way with this Scissors Cozy from S.O.T.A.K. Handmade.

Scissors Cozy from Sotak Handmade

If you have more than three needles, you probably realize how difficult it can be to store them.  This sweet Embroidered Needle Book from Skip to my Lou can help.

Embroidered Needle Book from Skip to my Lou

I tried a leather thimble recently, and I was surprised at how comfortable it is and how well it works.  You can make your own, with help from Penolopy Bulnick on Instructables.

Leather Thimble from Penolopy Bulnick on Instructables

Whether you need to use your tools near your ironing board or that’s just the most convenient spot you have for storing them, this Ironing Board Caddy from Sew4Home would come in handy.

Ironing Board Caddy from Sew4Home

Maybe space is so tight you don’t have enough room for an ironing board.  You can still press with ease with this Magnetic Ironing Mat from A Beautiful Mess.

Magnetic Ironing Mat from A Beautiful Mess

I’ve found myself kind of obsessed with embroidery lately (I can’t wait to show you what I’ve been working on!).  I guess I’ll be doing a lot more of it for the next couple of weeks.  I’d love this Embroidery Scissor Holder and Pincushion Wrist Cuff from Feeling Stitchy to keep all my stuff together, and not between the couch cushions.

Embroidery Scissor and Pincushion Wrist Cuff from Feeling Stitchy

The worse my vision gets, the more I appreciate things like this Needle Threader from Wild Olive.  The cuteness takes a little of the sting out.

Needle Threader from Wild Olive

This Non-Slip Sewing Machine Foot Pedal Pad from So Sew Easy is genius.  I am constantly pulling the foot back toward me when it hits the wall.  Once my machines are whole again, this project is on the list.

Non-Slip Sewing Machine Foot Pedal Pad from So Sew Easy

I love curating my Friday Favorites each week, and I want to make sure that the talented people who have created these projects are fully acknowledged for their work.  Before you pin or share, please click through the link or photo to the originating website.  You can also find all the projects each week on my Friday Favorites Pinterest board.  Thank you!

Sign up for the Crafty Staci monthly newsletter

8 thoughts on “Friday Favorites–Craft Tools You Can Make

  1. How do I thank strangers who enrich my life through their generosity? I have a burning desire to create but not the inventiveness or color sense to do it on my own. Then wonderful people enter my life through the internet and I have more ideas plus tutorials than I can ever complete. Thank you so very much. PS.to Staci: I am very, very happy about your decision to continue the pot holder patterns!

    Like

Leave a Reply

