Peanut Butter and Jelly Braid

This post is sponsored by the Oregon Raspberry and Blackberry Commission.  I received a gift card and accessories as reimbursement for ingredients and time.

It’s been quite a while since I shared any recipes here.  To be honest, my time in the kitchen has been spent trying to learn how to cook for only two people.  So weird.  Way back when it was only the two of us the first time, before the kids, my husband did most of the cooking.  Now that it’s my job, I have to try and remember it takes far less food.  I have a lasagna in the freezer that might get us through February.

What drove me to the kitchen this time?  Well, not one but BOTH of my sewing machines are currently in the shop.  Apparently, if I can’t sew I make dessert.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Braid from Crafty Staci

It might be the middle of winter, but thankfully you can enjoy Oregon berries year-round.  I know I’m a little partial, but there are none better.  Lucky for me, the Oregon Raspberry and Blackberry Commission sent me some delicious berry spreads to try out.  I love the texture of these.  They’re something between jelly and jam, with their smoother texture but seeds intact.  They worked perfectly for this recipe.

Blackberry and Raspberry Spread

Peanut Butter and Jelly Braid

8 – 9 oz puff pastry dough (1 sheet)

1 cup natural-style peanut butter

2 tablespoons honey

1/2 cup raspberry fruit spread or jam

1 egg

2 tablespoons turbinado sugar

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.  Cut a piece of parchment paper to fit a large baking sheet.  Lay the paper out on the counter and flour lightly.  Roll the puff pastry dough to fit the paper.

Rolling out puff pastry

Slide the paper with the dough onto the baking sheet.  Mix the peanut butter and honey together and spread down the middle of the dough, about 5 inches wide and 1 inch from the ends.

Spread peanut butter down center

Spread the raspberry jam over the top of the peanut butter.  Make slits in the dough, 1 inch wide and 1/2” away from the filling.

Berry spread and cut slits down sides

Fold the end of the dough up over the filling.  Pull the strips over the top, alternating sides to create a braid.

Braid slits

Continue to the end, tucking that end under the braid.

Braid finished

Beat the egg.  Brush it over the pastry (it probably won’t take the whole egg).  Sprinkle with the turbinado sugar.

Sprinkle with sugar

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Golden brown berry braid

This is a pretty thick layer of peanut butter.  When I asked my husband if it was too much, he said “No, but I REALLY like peanut butter.”  If you’re more of a moderate peanut butter lover, you can easily reduce the amount in the braid.

By the way, it turns out two people have no problem whatsoever putting one of these away.  I guess I know how to couple-cook after all.

Peanut Butter and Jelly Braid on Crafty Staci

Join me next week for the gluten-free recipe I made with the blackberry spread!

8 thoughts on “Peanut Butter and Jelly Braid

  1. I love simple recipes that look like you spent a lot of time on it! This looks amazing! Thank you for sharing. I hope you get your sewing machines back soon….though if making desserts is what you do when you can’t sew….making desserts is definitely your thing too! 🙂 Have a lovely evening! Stay warm. Koko:)

    Like

  2. Pingback: CraftCrave | DigiFree | CraftCrave

  3. Pingback: Talented Tuesday Link Party #63 | Crafty Staci

  4. Pingback: Talented Tuesday Link Party #63 - Aspen Jay

  5. Pingback: Gluten Free Peanut Butter and Jelly Cookies | Crafty Staci

  6. Pingback: Raspberry Jalapeno Cheese Tarts | Crafty Staci

Leave a Reply

