Friday Favorites–My Summer Vacation

I’m back!  Actually, I’ve been home for a few days, but I’m still trying to pry my fingers off the last few days of vacation.  It was an amazing trip.  We spent a week in Disney World, then another week on a cruise ship.  We got drenched by the warmest rain I’ve ever experienced in Grand Cayman, went ziplining in Honduras, toured the Mayan ruins in Costa Maya and explored Cozumel from a horse and buggy. We tried new foods, met lots of interesting people and unplugged from everything for a while.  We even lasted an entire week without internet or cell phones.  The icing on the cake was celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with my knight in shining armor. Since I’m not ready to let go, I thought I’d focus on some things related to my break today. After that, I’ll be counting the days until we can do it again!

Crafty Staci's Friday Favorites - My Summer Vacation

We began our trip, as you always do, with planning.  Between air, transfers, hotel, park, more transfers, ship, excursions, more transfers, another hotel, transfers again and one last flight, there was a TON of paperwork.  I used apps as much as possible, but those printouts were unavoidable.  This Leather and Tweed Travel Documents Holder from The Crafty Gentleman would be a classy way to keep it all together.

DIY Leather and Tweed Documents Holder from The Crafty Gentleman

It’s a long flight (or two) from Portland to Orlando.  My husband kept talking about buying an inflatable neck pillow for napping, but since he never did I think he needs this Tentacle Neck Pillow from Tally’s Treasury instead.

Tentacle Neck Pillow from Tally's Treasury

The next challenge is usually finding our luggage on the Carousel of Mystery in the airport.  Two of our bags split during our last trip, so we recently replaced them with some shiny red babies, but our previous set was non-descript grey.  We definitely could have used this Luggage Handle Wrap from The Silly Pearl to make them easier to spot.

Luggage Handle Wraps from The Silly Pearl

Our only previous experience in Disney World was a short stop in Magic Kingdom a few years ago.  It was fun to spend a whole week and visit all of the parks.  The Magic Band system they’re using now is amazing, and I’m hoping it eventually comes to our coast at Disneyland.  It opens your hotel room door, doubles as a charge card and holds all of your Fast Passes.  And I love that you can select the color.  As you might imagine, people get pretty creative decorating them, and I think the use of fingernail polish by The Delightful Life is very clever.

Decorate your Disney Magic Band from Delightful Life

When we visited the Bahamas a few years ago, we kept seeing men cutting conch from the shell and eating it raw.  We weren’t brave enough to try it, but when we saw it on the menu in a little café in Grand Cayman, cooked, we knew we needed to give it a shot.  It was delicious!  Thanks to this Conch Fritters recipe from Brown Eyed Baker you can try it at home.  If you can get your hands on conch – I think we’ll have to settle for shrimp.

Conch Fritters from Brown Eyed Baker

I did something in Roatan, Honduras that I’ve wanted to try for years – ziplining!  It was so much fun, sailing over the jungle and trying to remember how to break with my leather-covered hand.  Definitely something I’ll be trying again, the next chance I get.  We have enough trees on our property, I think we could even pull off this Backyard Zipline from i_like_to_make_stuff on Instructables.

How to Make a Backyard Zipline from i_like_to_make_stuff on Instructables

I learned a lot in Costa Maya.  For instance, I had no idea that the Mayans had a hand in so many of the things we use in the modern world.  Binary code?  Wow.  These Sombreros from Craft Klatch might not look exactly like the ones worn by Mayans in days of old, but they would be a fun addition to a fiesta.

Sombreros How To from Craft Klatch

I saw so many beautiful dresses in Mexico.  The embroidery is amazing, and the style would definitely suit my figure.  However, they’d be a little tough to pull off in the Pacific Northwest.  I wish I would have thought of something like this Mexican Dress to Tote Bag from Tea Rose Home. One of those babies definitely would have come home in my luggage.

Mexican Dress to Tote Bag from Tea Rose Home

One of my favorite things about Mexico is all the bright colors.  Everywhere you look there’s something colorful and beautiful.  You can bring some of that happiness to your next party with this Papel Picado Banner from Frog Prince Paperie.

Papel Picado Banners from Frog Prince Paperie

One of our stops in Cozumel was a tequila distributor. I don’t usually like tequila, but there’s something about it when you’re actually in Mexico that’s pretty enticing.  In fact, I’m sipping on a coconut pineapple concoction that found its way home with me as I write this.  Please forgive any spelling errors.  Since one of my very favorite things on the cruise ship was watermelon, this Watermelon Tequila Slush from Bourbon and Honey seems like a great way to remember our amazing vacation.

Watermelon Tequila Slush from Bourbon and Honey

I love curating my Friday Favorites each week, and I want to make sure that the talented people who have created these projects are fully acknowledged for their work.  Before you pin or share, please click through the link or photo to the originating website.  You can also find all the projects each week on my Friday Favorites Pinterest board.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

